Search form

Transformations: Tapestries in Glass

Anita Bucsay Damron’s vibrant mosaics draw from many sources, both traditional and contemporary. Inspired by tapestries from Rajasthan and Gujarat, India, her pieces incorporate crystal from Austria and the Czech Republic, specialty glass from Murano, Italy, and found objects such as beads, brooches, and cameos. Damron notes that “new applications of mosaic art encourage recycling and reuse,” and her creative reuse of materials is what gives this ancient art form its exciting new sparkle.

Damron describes the process of composing a mosaic akin to “painting with glass.” She hand cuts each piece, noting that each cut is like creating a brush stroke. Although Damron’s work is influenced by her studies of the masters as well as contemporary artists, her Hungarian heritage, her early artistic upbringing, and her faith, she notes that the Impressionist painters and Mother Nature remain her most enduring muses.

The work of artist and instructor Laurel Skye prompted Damron’s series of tapestry mosaics. These “magic carpets” are all about visual pattern, color, and texture. Damron collects materials from all over the world and surrounds herself by these beautiful objects in her studio for inspiration. She enjoys combining unlike elements to stimulate curiosity and present ordinary objects in a new light.

Anita Bucsay Damron works in several mediums, including glass, oil, and acrylic. Her mosaics and paintings have won numerous awards and are held in collections throughout the country. She engages in self-study and has studied with artists including Kurt Schwarz, Pam Coulter Blehert, and Laurel Skye. She teaches mosaic art, stained glass, and fused glass throughout the Washington, DC area, including at The Art League School, the Workhouse Art Center in Lorton, VA, and the Reston Community Center. She is currently a member of The Art League, the Greater Reston Art Center (GRACE), and the Society of American Mosaic Artists (SAMA).

Categories: Arts, Exhibits, Free

Event Venue

The Art League Gallery

105 N Union Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
  • Wednesday, October 5, 2016
  • Thursday, October 6, 2016
  • Friday, October 7, 2016
  • Saturday, October 8, 2016
  • Sunday, October 9, 2016
  • Monday, October 10, 2016
  • Tuesday, October 11, 2016
  • Wednesday, October 12, 2016
  • Thursday, October 13, 2016
  • Friday, October 14, 2016
  • Saturday, October 15, 2016
  • Sunday, October 16, 2016
  • Monday, October 17, 2016
  • Tuesday, October 18, 2016
  • Wednesday, October 19, 2016
  • Thursday, October 20, 2016
  • Friday, October 21, 2016
  • Saturday, October 22, 2016
  • Sunday, October 23, 2016
  • Monday, October 24, 2016
  • Tuesday, October 25, 2016
  • Wednesday, October 26, 2016
  • Thursday, October 27, 2016
  • Friday, October 28, 2016
  • Saturday, October 29, 2016
  • Sunday, October 30, 2016
  • Monday, October 31, 2016
  • Tuesday, November 1, 2016
  • Wednesday, November 2, 2016
  • Thursday, November 3, 2016
  • Friday, November 4, 2016
  • Saturday, November 5, 2016
  • Sunday, November 6, 2016
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest