“The Kennedy Center Presents: The 2005 Mark Twain Prize” salutes Steve Martin, one of the most diversified performers in the motion picture industry today and the 2005 recipient of the Kennedy Center’s Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. The program airs Wednesday, November 9, 2005, at 9 p.m. ET on PBS stations nationwide. (Check local listings.) Taped at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts on October 23, the two-hour special will feature tributes and comic performances from an all-star cast of Martin’s friends and colleagues including Dave Barry, Claire Danes, Larry David, Tom Hanks, Eric Idle, Diane Keaton, Queen Latifah, Randy Newman, Mike Nichols, Martin Short and Paul Simon. Former Mark Twain Prize recipients Carl Reiner, Lily Tomlin and Lorne Michaels will all be in attendance. The program will also include classic film and television clips from Martin’s career.


Press Contacts