We’ll hear Samuel Barber’s First Essay for Orchestra and Leonard Bernstein’s Divertimento, plus George Gershwin’s tour-de-force, An American in Paris. Also included will be music by two foreign composers with ties to DC and New York: Dvorak’s 9th Symphony, From the New World and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor's elegant Four Noveletten.

Show Notes

Nicole Lacroix goes in-depth into the November program and looks ahead to the entire season in our blog, Classical Score. Read the story here!


Gianandrea Noseda, conductor
National Symphony Orchestra

Samuel Barber
First Essay

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor
Four Noveletten

Leonard Bernstein

George Gershwin
An American in Paris

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 9 "From the New World"