Search form

Sarah Nesbitt: Making Sense of What We Have

Sarah Nesbitt’s show arrives at a time where our society aims to establish a concrete line between fact and opinion, history and myth, evidence and conspiracy theory. 

“A photograph is often perceived to be an objective arbiter of truth, but realistically, it’s just as open to manipulation as the process of recording history,” she said. 

Using a variety of modern and antiquated media—videos, installations, sculpture, augmented reality, and even wet-plate photography—Sarah disrupts her own work with stitching, dissecting, writing, and pinning. Photographs aren’t precious and complete, they’re vulnerable to disruptions from outside forces. 

Presented by Target Gallery, this solo exhibition is Sarah's first in the greater Washington, D.C. area.

Please help us welcome her to the region and join us for the Opening Celebration and artist meet-and-greet on Thursday, July 13 at 7 pm. 

Categories: Arts, Free, Exhibits

Event Venue

The Torpedo Factory

105 N. Union Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
  • Thursday, July 13, 2017 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, July 14, 2017 - 10:15am
  • Saturday, July 15, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, July 16, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Monday, July 17, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, July 18, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, July 19, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, July 20, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Friday, July 21, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, July 22, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, July 23, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Monday, July 24, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, July 25, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Friday, July 28, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, July 29, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, July 30, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Monday, July 31, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, August 2, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, August 3, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Friday, August 4, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, August 5, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, August 6, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Monday, August 7, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, August 8, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, August 9, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, August 10, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Friday, August 11, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, August 12, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, August 13, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Monday, August 14, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, August 16, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, August 17, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, August 20, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Monday, August 21, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Friday, August 25, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Monday, August 28, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, August 31, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Friday, September 1, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, September 2, 2017 - 10:00am
  • Sunday, September 3, 2017 - 10:00am
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest