Search form

Journeys: Photographs by Marketa Jirouskova

"Journeys" refers to Marketa Jirouskova's main source of inspiration: a journey itself as a long, arduous travel in search of nature's highlights, in the footsteps of earlier explorers, or following her own paths. The exhibition presents images of exotic birds and iguanas on isolated islands in the Pacific Ocean; penguins and polar bears with iceberg backdrops in Antarctica and the North Pole; and the highest mountains on earth in the Himalayas. Jirouskova creates a wonderland composed of pristine, uninhabited, and undisturbed places, difficult to leave for their beauty and harmony, where human traces are still minimal or non-existent. Jirouskova traveled to those remote destinations to create evocative, almost painting-like, intimate portraits of our natural world. She hopes to inspire the public with respect, appreciation, and admiration of nature worth preserving.

Opening Reception: Saturday, November 17, 4 – 6pm

Categories: Arts, Free, Exhibits

Event Venue

Park View Gallery at Glen Echo Park

7300 MacArthur Blvd.
Glen Echo Park, MD 20812
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Monday, November 19, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, November 20, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, November 22, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Friday, November 23, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, November 24, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Monday, November 26, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, November 27, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Friday, November 30, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, December 1, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Monday, December 3, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, December 4, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, December 5, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, December 6, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Friday, December 7, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, December 8, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Monday, December 10, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, December 11, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Friday, December 14, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, December 15, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Monday, December 17, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, December 18, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, December 19, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Friday, December 21, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, December 22, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Monday, December 24, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, December 25, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, December 26, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, December 27, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Friday, December 28, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, December 29, 2018 - 10:00am
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest