Search form

"High Caliber" January Exhibit at Gallery Underground

Exhibition:  High Caliber 

 

Dates:            January 1-31, 2020

                        Opening Reception and Meet the Artists: Friday January 3, 5-7pm

Free and open to the public

 

Location:      Focus Gallery

Gallery Underground

Crystal City Shops at 2100 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202

 

Arlington, VA –   At first glance, Jeanne Garant’s Mist is a simple graphic, long vertical bars of varying degrees of darkness.  The “mist” is a translucent wash that oozes and drips over the top quarter of the painting.  Taking a step back, however, and skyscrapers emerge.  Side by side, in each other’s shadows.  The simple geometry of the bars is made organic with the natural edge of the mist descending.  It is lovely and clever, and transforms something cold and hard into something soft and peaceful.

 Mist is just one of the many works that will be on exhibit in the show, “High Caliber”, a juried showcase of six artists chosen to represent the best of a wide-ranging collection of different styles and media. Artists Donna Lomangino (acrylic), Carol Waite (Sumi-e, Japanese brush painting), Michael Allison (acrylic), Jeanne Garant (oil and encaustic), Pat Loudis (Joomchi, Korean handmade textured and colored paper), and Rex Pace (acrylic) are included.

 In the main gallery,we present new member works for January, including paintings, sculpture, metalwork, glass, wood, ceramics, and mixed media.

 Come meet our artists at Gallery Underground’s opening reception on Friday, January 3, from 5-7pm. The reception is free and open to the public.  

 

Attached image: Mist (oil on canvas) by Jeanne Garant

 

   - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 

 

For more informationabout Gallery Underground, visit www.galleryunderground.org

 

Gallery Hours:  Mon-Fri 10am - 6pm 

Metro accessible. Parking is available in metered spots on nearby streets and in public garages, which are free on weekends and after 4pm on weekdays.

 

GALLERY UNDERGROUND

An Arlington Artists Alliance Gallery

Crystal City Shops @ 2100 Crystal Drive, Arlington, VA 22202

571-483-0652

 

art@galleryunderground.org

www.galleryunderground.org

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/galleryunderground

Instagram: www.instagram.com/galleryunderground/

Twitter: @GalleryUnder

 

Contact:

Sandi Parker

Managing Director of Galleries 

art@galleryunderground.org

Categories: Arts, Exhibits, Free

Event Venue

Gallery Underground

2100 Crystal Drive
Crystal City Shops
Arlington, VA 22202
Phone: 5714830652
  • Wednesday, January 1, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, January 2, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Friday, January 3, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Monday, January 6, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, January 7, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, January 8, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, January 9, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Friday, January 10, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Monday, January 13, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, January 14, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, January 15, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, January 16, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Friday, January 17, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Monday, January 20, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, January 21, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, January 22, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Friday, January 24, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Monday, January 27, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, January 28, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, January 29, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, January 30, 2020 - 10:00am
  • Friday, January 31, 2020 - 10:00am
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest