Search form

Fall Solos 2018

The artists of Fall SOLOS 2018 examine landscapes, investigate personal histories, and analyze the ways physical objects communicate meaning and help us understand the world. Exhibiting artists Nekisha Durrett, Zoe Friedman, Aimee Gilmore, Artemis Herber, Cindy Stockton Moore, Tristan Roland, and Julia Staples will install solo-style exhibitions in AAC’s seven main gallery spaces. Working in various media, including sculpture, drawing, painting, animation, and installation, these artists represent the wide-ranging practices and interests of contemporary artists working in the Mid-Atlantic.

Artists Zoe Friedman, Cindy Stockton Moore, and Artemis Herber bring very different approaches to their explorations of our built and natural environments. In Moore’s close examination of a single Philadelphia block, she depicts the process of gentrification and urban change. In Zoe Friedman’s cut paper animation, the artist contrasts the domestic and the wild, creating visual connections between the two through an exploration of pattern and color. Artemis Herber’s examination of the landscape takes a mythic form. In large scale works created using cardboard, Herber considers humans’ exploitation of, and movement across, the earth.

Bringing a more intimate focus to her work, Aimee Gilmore explores motherhood in part through an examination of the physical materials that connect mother and child. In a newly created installation, Nekisha Durrett evokes her family history, examining the ways history is embedded and transferred across generations via keepsakes and personal memories. Drawing on his background in furniture making, Tristan Roland also examines the functions and social meanings of particular objects, exploring the line between luxury and necessity. Through her long-running collaboration with Sonny Lopez, a spiritualist and healer, artist Julia Staples considers the strategies we all use to make sense of the world, including the higher powers and faith systems we turn to for answers.

Categories: Arts, Exhibits

Event Venue

Arlington Arts Center

3550 Wilson Blvd
Arlington, VA 22201

For more information:

  • Friday, September 21, 2018 - 4:00pm
  • Saturday, October 13, 2018
  • Sunday, October 14, 2018
  • Monday, October 15, 2018
  • Tuesday, October 16, 2018
  • Wednesday, October 17, 2018
  • Thursday, October 18, 2018
  • Friday, October 19, 2018
  • Saturday, October 20, 2018
  • Sunday, October 21, 2018
  • Monday, October 22, 2018
  • Tuesday, October 23, 2018
  • Wednesday, October 24, 2018
  • Thursday, October 25, 2018
  • Friday, October 26, 2018
  • Saturday, October 27, 2018
  • Sunday, October 28, 2018
  • Monday, October 29, 2018
  • Tuesday, October 30, 2018
  • Wednesday, October 31, 2018
  • Thursday, November 1, 2018
  • Friday, November 2, 2018
  • Saturday, November 3, 2018
  • Sunday, November 4, 2018
  • Monday, November 5, 2018
  • Tuesday, November 6, 2018
  • Wednesday, November 7, 2018
  • Thursday, November 8, 2018
  • Friday, November 9, 2018
  • Saturday, November 10, 2018
  • Sunday, November 11, 2018
  • Monday, November 12, 2018
  • Tuesday, November 13, 2018
  • Wednesday, November 14, 2018
  • Thursday, November 15, 2018
  • Friday, November 16, 2018
  • Saturday, November 17, 2018
  • Sunday, November 18, 2018
  • Monday, November 19, 2018
  • Tuesday, November 20, 2018
  • Wednesday, November 21, 2018
  • Thursday, November 22, 2018
  • Friday, November 23, 2018
  • Saturday, November 24, 2018
  • Sunday, November 25, 2018
  • Monday, November 26, 2018
  • Tuesday, November 27, 2018
  • Wednesday, November 28, 2018
  • Thursday, November 29, 2018
  • Friday, November 30, 2018
  • Saturday, December 1, 2018
  • Sunday, December 2, 2018
  • Monday, December 3, 2018
  • Tuesday, December 4, 2018
  • Wednesday, December 5, 2018
  • Thursday, December 6, 2018
  • Friday, December 7, 2018
  • Saturday, December 8, 2018
  • Sunday, December 9, 2018
  • Monday, December 10, 2018
  • Tuesday, December 11, 2018
  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018
  • Friday, December 14, 2018
  • Saturday, December 15, 2018
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest