Search form

Exhibit reception & discussion: "Call & Response: Transmogrify"

Call & Response is an annual exhibit of collaborations between writers and visual artists, in which one calls and one responds. This year's theme, TRANSMOGRIFY, means "to change," but various dictionaries add “magically,” “utterly,” “surprisingly,” and even “in a grotesque manner.” This collaboration relies on a kind of metamorphosis, one in which a spark from the caller’s work is made apparent in a new form in the responder’s. How do we transform one another? How does one work surprisingly or even utterly, alter our view of another?

Join us on Thursday, October 10 at 1:30pm for a panel discussion and opening reception with the artists and writers, led by the exhibit's curators. This discussion is presented as part of the Fall for the Book Festival on George Mason University's Fairfax Campus.

Call & Response: Transmogrify is on view from Oct. 3 - Nov. 9, 2019. Learn more at https://fenwickgallery.gmu.edu.

Categories: Arts, Exhibits, Free

Event Venue

Fenwick Gallery

George Mason University - Fenwick Library
4400 University Drive
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: (703) 993-2240
  • Thursday, October 3, 2019
  • Friday, October 4, 2019
  • Saturday, October 5, 2019
  • Sunday, October 6, 2019
  • Monday, October 7, 2019
  • Tuesday, October 8, 2019
  • Wednesday, October 9, 2019
  • Thursday, October 10, 2019
  • Friday, October 11, 2019
  • Saturday, October 12, 2019
  • Sunday, October 13, 2019
  • Monday, October 14, 2019
  • Tuesday, October 15, 2019
  • Wednesday, October 16, 2019
  • Thursday, October 17, 2019
  • Friday, October 18, 2019
  • Saturday, October 19, 2019
  • Sunday, October 20, 2019
  • Monday, October 21, 2019
  • Tuesday, October 22, 2019
  • Wednesday, October 23, 2019
  • Thursday, October 24, 2019
  • Friday, October 25, 2019
  • Saturday, October 26, 2019
  • Sunday, October 27, 2019
  • Monday, October 28, 2019
  • Tuesday, October 29, 2019
  • Wednesday, October 30, 2019
  • Thursday, October 31, 2019
  • Friday, November 1, 2019
  • Saturday, November 2, 2019
  • Sunday, November 3, 2019
  • Monday, November 4, 2019
  • Tuesday, November 5, 2019
  • Wednesday, November 6, 2019
  • Thursday, November 7, 2019
  • Friday, November 8, 2019
  • Saturday, November 9, 2019
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest