Search form

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

One of the most illustrious orchestras in the world returns to our stage with renowned violinist Pinchas Zukerman for an evening of unequaled classical music. Known as Britain's national orchestra, this ensemble was founded in 1946 by Sir Thomas Beecham, who envisioned an elite ensemble of the country's finest musicians. The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra flourished, first under Beecham's direction, and then under a distinguished list of conductors including André Previn, Daniele Gatti, and Charles Dutoit. For this concert, guest conductor and violin virtuoso Pinchas Zukerman leads the orchestra to perform Bach's Violin Concerto in A minor and Schoenberg's Romantic masterpiece, Verklärte Nacht (Transfigured Night) inspired by a poem with the same name and the music of the late German Romantics. Then, celebrated cellist Amanda Forsyth joins Zukerman for Brahms' Double Concerto in A minor, a remarkable work requiring two equally brilliant soloists. "Incisive, insightful, and extremely beautiful." (The Guardian)

Bach: Violin Concerto in A minor, BWV 1041
Schoenberg: Verklärte Nacht, Op. 4
Brahms: Double Concerto in A minor, Op. 102

Event begins at 4:00PM

Featured Artist(s): Pinchas Zukerman (conductor and violin), Amanda Forsyth (cello)

Categories: Music: Classical

Event Venue

George Mason University Center for the Arts

George Mason University
Fairfax 22030
  • Sunday, January 12, 2014

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest