Search form

Sounds of Remembrance

The New Orchestra of Washington presents a moving program of music written to commemorate and provide meaning for challenging periods in our history. The program features Steve Reich's "WTC 9/11", which draws inspiration from events of September 11, 2001 and its aftermath, and Olivier Messiaen's "Quartet for the End of Time", originally performed by the composer and fellow prisoners in a German POW camp during World War II. This performance will also include two new arrangements by Artistic Director Alejandro Hernandez-Valdez, "When the Tigers Broke Free" by Roger Watters and John Lennon's "Imagine", as well as poetry that magnifies and reflects these themes.

Event begins at 4:00PM

Presented by: New Orchestra of Washington

Featured Artist(s): NOW

Categories: Music: Classical

Event Venue

Westmoreland Congregational United Church of Christ

1 Westmoreland Circle
Bethesda, MD 20816
  • Sunday, March 24, 2013

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest