Search form

Ephemera

Public Reception: Thursday, April 13, 6 – 8 pm; Juror’s Talk at 7 pm

The newest exhibition in Target Gallery, the contemporary exhibition space for the Torpedo Factory Art Center, presents work that is fleeting and impermanent. Ephemera features the work of 22 national and international artists who contemplate themes of nature, time, memory, and brevity. Painter/sculptor Pam Rogers juried the exhibition.

“There are multitudes of ways an individual can perceive this transitory existence, making the concept of ephemerality a relative one,” said Rogers. “I was drawn to work that seemed to have risen from the artists’ true feelings of something being precious because it would soon no longer exist; art that embodied materials that spoke to a temporary life.”

Of the 108 submissions, only 22 artists were invited to participate. Work by local artists will be in conversation with pieces that will be traveling from as far as Alaska and France for a truly transnational exploration of ephemerality.

“I am interested in how artists capture impermanence,” said Leslie Mounaime, director of Target Gallery. “This body of work explores the idea of art as a natural and evanescent object, meant to represent a memory or reflect a specific moment in time. In this show, we strive not only to show work that introduces new trends and themes in contemporary art, but also reflects the broader conversation in our community around these diverse and relevant issues.”

Ephmera represents a wide diversity of media. Maxime Girardin plays with the photosensitive nature of chlorophyll to imprint intricate, yet delicate images on leaves in Origin 1 and Origin 2. In Lilach Schrag’s video loop Brown Golem, she documents her process and laborious ritual as she deconstructs and reconstructs a man from the earth. Holly Anne Brooks’ watercolor painting My Grandmother’s Knitting Pattern from 1948 preserves a family heirloom, the degrading paper her grandmother referenced to make Christmas stocking for every member of her family. Brent Dedas’ cyanotype X No. 29 captures the ghostly and fragile silhouettes of bees as they feed on honey and salt.

Categories: Arts, Free, Exhibits

Event Venue

Torpedo Factory Art Center

105 S. Union Street
Alexandria 22314
  • Saturday, April 1, 2017
  • Sunday, April 2, 2017
  • Monday, April 3, 2017
  • Tuesday, April 4, 2017
  • Wednesday, April 5, 2017
  • Thursday, April 6, 2017
  • Friday, April 7, 2017
  • Saturday, April 8, 2017
  • Sunday, April 9, 2017
  • Monday, April 10, 2017
  • Tuesday, April 11, 2017
  • Wednesday, April 12, 2017
  • Thursday, April 13, 2017
  • Friday, April 14, 2017
  • Saturday, April 15, 2017
  • Sunday, April 16, 2017
  • Monday, April 17, 2017
  • Tuesday, April 18, 2017
  • Wednesday, April 19, 2017
  • Thursday, April 20, 2017
  • Friday, April 21, 2017
  • Saturday, April 22, 2017
  • Sunday, April 23, 2017
  • Monday, April 24, 2017
  • Tuesday, April 25, 2017
  • Wednesday, April 26, 2017
  • Thursday, April 27, 2017
  • Friday, April 28, 2017
  • Saturday, April 29, 2017
  • Sunday, April 30, 2017
  • Monday, May 1, 2017
  • Tuesday, May 2, 2017
  • Wednesday, May 3, 2017
  • Thursday, May 4, 2017
  • Friday, May 5, 2017
  • Saturday, May 6, 2017
  • Sunday, May 7, 2017
  • Monday, May 8, 2017
  • Tuesday, May 9, 2017
  • Wednesday, May 10, 2017
  • Thursday, May 11, 2017
  • Friday, May 12, 2017
  • Saturday, May 13, 2017
  • Sunday, May 14, 2017
  • Monday, May 15, 2017
  • Tuesday, May 16, 2017
  • Wednesday, May 17, 2017
  • Thursday, May 18, 2017
  • Friday, May 19, 2017
  • Saturday, May 20, 2017
  • Sunday, May 21, 2017
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest