Search form

A Curator Collects Highlights from the collection of H. Elaine Jackson

Artists Reception: Saturday, January 27, 5-8 pm

Free and Open to the Public

Washington DC-based collector and independent curator H. Elaine Jackson has acquired and exhibited work by prominent mid-late 20th century artists of color for nearly four decades. Her extensive collection draws from the continental US as well from the Caribbean basin and Africa, with a specific focus on graphic media.

The exhibition at the Brentwood Arts Exchange will feature selections representative of Ms. Jackson's collection bringing to view an impressive sampling of graphic works from the African Diaspora. The exhibition also brings together a cross-section of work spanning several generations of female artists, touching on  multiple roles imposed on and displayed by women - mother, goddess, object, and muse.

Works in the exhibition include those by Agnes Ainilian, Myrna Baez, Romare Bearden, Viola Burley-Leak, Elizabeth Catlett, Ed Clark, LeRoy Clarke, Sheila Crider, Alonzo Davis, Dumili Feni, Irma Francis, Herbert Gentry, Gavin Jantjes, Helene Jackovich-Case, Souleymane Keita, Jacob Lawrence, Carmen Losada, Louis Maqhubela, Norma Morgan, Otto Neal, Jack Perlmutter, Madeline Raab, Matthew Reid, Helen Sebidi, Joyce Scott, Vincent Smith, James L. Wells.

Categories: Exhibits, Free

Event Venue

Brentwood Arts Exchange

3901 Rhode Island Ave.
@ Gateway Arts Center
Brentwood, MD 20722

For more information:

  • Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Friday, January 19, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Monday, March 12, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Tuesday, March 13, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Wednesday, March 14, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Friday, March 16, 2018 - 10:00am
  • Saturday, March 17, 2018 - 10:00am

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest