Search form

Centennial of the Everyday

The City of Alexandria’s Office of the Arts partners with Baltimore-based artists Stewart Watson and Lauren Frances Adams for a series of site-specific, all-media installations inspired by the history of Gadsby’s Tavern Museum.

Centennial of the Everyday features artistic interventions tucked in among the historic exhibits. It will be on view May 15 - September 3, 2017, at the Museum, located at 143 North Royal Street.

The works on view reflects the artists’ extensive, in-depth research—documented via social media—on the history of women, enslaved peoples, and anonymous citizens whose stories are overshadowed by other more famous historic figures from the region, such as George Washington and Robert E. Lee. 

With furniture, stoneware, textiles and other domestic materials as a starting point, historic ephemera takes on new contexts. They seek to turn the archival into the interactive.

They identified personal stories of place and family history by interviewing people like the descendants of John Gadsby, as well as Nancy Syphax, an enslaved woman owned by Gadsby in the 19th century. In all, they collaborated with seven subjects, focusing on women and people of color.

With these narratives, the pair created fantastical artistic interventions, positioned throughout Gadsby’s Tavern Museum. Each highlight points from the Museum’s history and archives and parallel the lived stories of present-day Alexandrians and the region’s rich diversity. Architectural fixtures, portraiture of anonymous women, pattern books, and newspaper articles take on new meaning when framed with themes of anonymity, loss, connectivity, and the fragility of memory.

This project is a first for the Office of the Arts’ Time & Place series, which explores the intersection of contemporary art with Alexandria’s rich and multifaceted history. It’s in partnership with the Office of Historic Alexandria. The goal of this compelling project is to foster exploration and dialogue about our region’s history and its continued reverberations within our community today. Follow #TimeandPlaceALX to join the conversation online. For more information, visit alexandriava.gov/94687.

The City of Alexandria is committed to compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. To request a reasonable accommodation or materials in an alternative format, contact Diane Ruggiero at 703.746.5590 (Virginia Relay 711) or diane.ruggiero@alexandriava.gov.

Categories: History, Arts, Exhibits

Event Venue

Gadsby's Tavern Museum

134 N Royal Street
Alexandria 22314

For more information:

  • Monday, May 15, 2017
  • Tuesday, May 16, 2017
  • Wednesday, May 17, 2017
  • Thursday, May 18, 2017
  • Friday, May 19, 2017
  • Saturday, May 20, 2017
  • Sunday, May 21, 2017
  • Monday, May 22, 2017
  • Tuesday, May 23, 2017
  • Wednesday, May 24, 2017
  • Thursday, May 25, 2017
  • Friday, May 26, 2017
  • Saturday, May 27, 2017
  • Sunday, May 28, 2017
  • Monday, May 29, 2017
  • Tuesday, May 30, 2017
  • Wednesday, May 31, 2017
  • Thursday, June 1, 2017
  • Friday, June 2, 2017
  • Saturday, June 3, 2017
  • Sunday, June 4, 2017
  • Monday, June 5, 2017
  • Tuesday, June 6, 2017
  • Wednesday, June 7, 2017
  • Thursday, June 8, 2017
  • Friday, June 9, 2017
  • Saturday, June 10, 2017
  • Sunday, June 11, 2017
  • Monday, June 12, 2017
  • Tuesday, June 13, 2017
  • Wednesday, June 14, 2017
  • Thursday, June 15, 2017
  • Friday, June 16, 2017
  • Saturday, June 17, 2017
  • Sunday, June 18, 2017
  • Monday, June 19, 2017
  • Tuesday, June 20, 2017
  • Wednesday, June 21, 2017
  • Thursday, June 22, 2017
  • Friday, June 23, 2017
  • Saturday, June 24, 2017
  • Sunday, June 25, 2017
  • Monday, June 26, 2017
  • Tuesday, June 27, 2017
  • Wednesday, June 28, 2017
  • Thursday, June 29, 2017
  • Friday, June 30, 2017
  • Saturday, July 1, 2017
  • Sunday, July 2, 2017
  • Monday, July 3, 2017
  • Wednesday, July 5, 2017
  • Thursday, July 6, 2017
  • Friday, July 7, 2017
  • Saturday, July 8, 2017
  • Sunday, July 9, 2017
  • Monday, July 10, 2017
  • Tuesday, July 11, 2017
  • Wednesday, July 12, 2017
  • Thursday, July 13, 2017
  • Friday, July 14, 2017
  • Saturday, July 15, 2017
  • Sunday, July 16, 2017
  • Monday, July 17, 2017
  • Tuesday, July 18, 2017
  • Wednesday, July 19, 2017
  • Thursday, July 20, 2017
  • Friday, July 21, 2017
  • Saturday, July 22, 2017
  • Sunday, July 23, 2017
  • Monday, July 24, 2017
  • Tuesday, July 25, 2017
  • Wednesday, July 26, 2017
  • Thursday, July 27, 2017
  • Friday, July 28, 2017
  • Saturday, July 29, 2017
  • Sunday, July 30, 2017
  • Monday, July 31, 2017
  • Tuesday, August 1, 2017
  • Wednesday, August 2, 2017
  • Thursday, August 3, 2017
  • Friday, August 4, 2017
  • Saturday, August 5, 2017
  • Sunday, August 6, 2017
  • Monday, August 7, 2017
  • Tuesday, August 8, 2017
  • Wednesday, August 9, 2017
  • Thursday, August 10, 2017
  • Friday, August 11, 2017
  • Saturday, August 12, 2017
  • Sunday, August 13, 2017
  • Monday, August 14, 2017
  • Tuesday, August 15, 2017
  • Wednesday, August 16, 2017
  • Thursday, August 17, 2017
  • Friday, August 18, 2017
  • Saturday, August 19, 2017
  • Sunday, August 20, 2017
  • Monday, August 21, 2017
  • Tuesday, August 22, 2017
  • Wednesday, August 23, 2017
  • Thursday, August 24, 2017
  • Friday, August 25, 2017
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017
  • Monday, August 28, 2017
  • Tuesday, August 29, 2017
  • Wednesday, August 30, 2017
  • Thursday, August 31, 2017
  • Friday, September 1, 2017
  • Saturday, September 2, 2017
  • Sunday, September 3, 2017
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest