Search form

The Amen Corner

In a 1950s storefront church in Harlem, Pastor Margaret Alexander rails at her congregation and her teenaged son for their vices. With a gospel choir singing of redemption in one room and her son bonding with his ailing father over their love of jazz in the next, Margaret must face the music herself when a figure from her own troubled past returns. James Baldwin’s The Amen Corner tackles the role of the church in the Black community in this landmark work, written immediately after his breakthrough novel Go Tell It on the Mountain. Whitney White, winner of the Susan Stroman Director Award, makes her STC directorial debut in this powerful production rich with music, humanity, and Baldwin’s lyrical prose.

Tickets start at just $35. Order today!

Categories: Theater, Arts

Event Venue

Shakespeare Theatre, Sidney Harman Hall

610 F St NW
Washington, DC 20004
  • Tuesday, February 11, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 12, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Thursday, February 13, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Friday, February 14, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, February 15, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, February 16, 2020 - 7:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 19, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Thursday, February 20, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Friday, February 21, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, February 22, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 2:00pm
  • Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 7:00pm
  • Tuesday, February 25, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Friday, February 28, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, February 29, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, March 1, 2020 - 2:00pm
  • Sunday, March 1, 2020 - 7:00pm
  • Tuesday, March 3, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, March 4, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Thursday, March 5, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Friday, March 6, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, March 7, 2020 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, March 7, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, March 8, 2020 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, January 10, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 12:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Thursday, March 12, 2020 - 7:30pm
  • Friday, March 13, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, March 14, 2020 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, March 15, 2020 - 2:00pm
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest