Search form

African American History of the Potomac River - Understanding 12 Years of Slave

History comes to life on a three-hour multi-media narrated tour as you travel back to the 19th Century with “Moments in Black History on the Potomac”.  This cruise experience is complete with graphic illustrations and will assist you in understanding life for African-Americans along the Potomac at 14 key landmarks.  Your unforgettable journey begins at the southwest Washington waterfront, past the Woodrow Wilson bridge and through the Washington Navy Yard on the Anacostia River. Don’t miss this amazing educational experience on the water.  We board 30 minutes before cruising at the Washington Marina located on the SW DC waterfront. The price includes packaged snacks from the historic period with beer, wine and assorted beverages available for purchase. Don’t miss out on this wonderful educational cruising experience.

Did you know:

Among the first settlers on the Potomac River in 1634 were three men of African descent?

Many early residents of Congress Heights in Southeast Washington DC worked at the U.S. Naval Gun Factory (at the Washington Navy Yard) or at the U.S. Naval Research Laboratory.

Anacostia, in Southeast Washington DC was once inhabited by the Nacotchtank Native Americans (the first settlers to inhabit the area.) It was once known as Uniontown and became Washington's first "suburban" community.

One of the First Black Million made his fortune on the waterways of the Potomac

You will learn more about these events and more during our fantastic narrated three hour "Moments in Black History on The Potomac River" cruise.

This cruise is a multi-media full immersion experience. Guests get to see not only the way the Washington waterfront looks today, but through graphic illustrations and narration, see the way it was during the 19th Century and understand the experiences of African-Americans living here during that era.

The price includes packaged snacks items from the historic period with Beer, Wine assorted beverages available for purchase.

T-Shirts available for sale

Cancellation policy must cancel 7 days prior to event to receive full refund. 50% is non-refundable canceling up to 2 days prior to event. CANCELING SAME DAY OF EVENT IS NON-REFUNDABLE.

Event Venue

Potomac River Tours

600 Water Street
Washington, DC 20024
Phone: 240-374-3856
  • Sunday, March 25, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, March 26, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, March 28, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, March 30, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, April 2, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, April 3, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, April 5, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, April 6, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, April 10, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, April 12, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, April 13, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, April 18, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, April 20, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, April 23, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, April 25, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, April 27, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, April 30, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, May 1, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, May 3, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, May 4, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, May 7, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, May 8, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, May 9, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, May 10, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, May 11, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, May 15, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, May 18, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, May 21, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, May 23, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, May 24, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, May 25, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, May 29, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, May 30, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, June 1, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, June 4, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, June 5, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, June 6, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, June 8, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, June 11, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, June 13, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, June 15, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, June 18, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 21, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, June 22, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, June 25, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, June 27, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, June 29, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, July 3, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, July 4, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, July 6, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, July 9, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, July 10, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, July 11, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, July 13, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, July 17, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, July 20, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, July 23, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, July 27, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, July 30, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, July 31, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, August 3, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, August 6, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, August 7, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, August 10, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, August 13, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, August 14, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, August 16, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, August 17, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, August 20, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, August 21, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, August 22, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, August 23, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, August 24, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, August 27, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, August 28, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, August 29, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, August 30, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, August 31, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, September 3, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, September 4, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, September 5, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, September 7, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, September 10, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, September 12, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, September 14, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, September 17, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, September 18, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, September 21, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, September 24, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, September 25, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, September 27, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, September 28, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, October 1, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, October 2, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, October 4, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, October 5, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, October 8, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, October 9, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, October 11, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, October 12, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, October 15, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, October 16, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, October 18, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, October 19, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, October 22, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, October 23, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, October 25, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, October 26, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, October 29, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, November 1, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, November 2, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, November 5, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, November 6, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, November 7, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, November 8, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, November 9, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, November 12, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, November 14, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, November 15, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, November 16, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, November 19, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, November 20, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, November 22, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, November 23, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, November 26, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, November 27, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, November 29, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, November 30, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, December 3, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, December 4, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, December 5, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, December 6, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, December 7, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, December 10, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, December 11, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, December 14, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, December 17, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, December 18, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, December 19, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, December 21, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, December 24, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, December 25, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, December 26, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, December 27, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Friday, December 28, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Monday, December 31, 2018 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, January 1, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, January 2, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, January 3, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Friday, January 4, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Monday, January 7, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, January 8, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, January 9, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, January 10, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Friday, January 11, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Monday, January 14, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, January 15, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, January 16, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, January 17, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Friday, January 18, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Monday, January 21, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, January 23, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, January 24, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Friday, January 25, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Monday, January 28, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Tuesday, January 29, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Wednesday, January 30, 2019 - 10:30am
  • Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 10:30am
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest