Search form

Peruvian Gold Ancient Treasures Unearthed

Rich natural resources in ancient Peru gave rise to the earliest Andean civilizations. Building on that wealth, skilled artisans crafted extraordinary and beautiful objects, including gold ceremonial and funerary masks, beakers, and jewelry, rivaling anything made by the ancient Egyptians.

Archaeological finds over the past half century have begun to put these magnificent objects in context. Visitors will learn about the latest techniques for excavating tombs and examine how technology is offering new insights into the complex civilizations that existed in ancient Peru. The exhibition will journey through civilizations from 1250 B.C. to A.D. 1450, learning through the ceremonial gold, silver, ceramics, and textiles created by these sophisticated peoples.

GENERAL ADMISSION:

Adult: $11
Members/Seniors/Students/Military: $9
Children 5-12: $7
Children under 5: Free

Categories: Exhibits

Event Venue

National Geographic Museum

1145 17th St. NW
Washington, DC 20036

For more information:

  • Wednesday, June 4, 2014
  • Thursday, June 5, 2014
  • Friday, June 6, 2014
  • Saturday, June 7, 2014
  • Sunday, June 8, 2014
  • Monday, June 9, 2014
  • Tuesday, June 10, 2014
  • Wednesday, June 11, 2014
  • Thursday, June 12, 2014
  • Friday, June 13, 2014
  • Saturday, June 14, 2014
  • Sunday, June 15, 2014
  • Monday, June 16, 2014
  • Tuesday, June 17, 2014
  • Wednesday, June 18, 2014
  • Thursday, June 19, 2014
  • Friday, June 20, 2014
  • Saturday, June 21, 2014
  • Sunday, June 22, 2014
  • Monday, June 23, 2014
  • Tuesday, June 24, 2014
  • Wednesday, June 25, 2014
  • Thursday, June 26, 2014
  • Friday, June 27, 2014
  • Saturday, June 28, 2014
  • Sunday, June 29, 2014
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest