Search form

Exhibition on Korean American Pop Art at the Workhouse Arts Center

Join us at the Workhouse Arts Center, 9601 Ox Road, Lorton, VA for an Exhibition on Korean American Pop Art.  Curated by Julie Jungsil Lee, Ph.D., an adjunct professor at Towson University, MD and Corcoran College of Art & Design, Washington DC, the exhibition will run from May 10th to June 22nd.

This exhibit features Korean American artists living in the Greater Washington DC area, part of the Han-Mee Artists Association, who are exploring the resonating history of Pop Art.  Han-Mee artists actively engage with a wide range of subjects related to the reality of contemporary popular culture in the view of postmodern. They embrace subjects such as consumer goods, cartoon characters, fashion, sci-fi films, pop music, and cyber worlds that make up the present popular culture.  This multifaceted nature of Korean contemporary Pop Art has not yet been substantially examined and exhibited, especially on the ground of American popular culture. The Workhouse is proud to be among the first art galleries to offer an exhibit on Korean American Pop Art.

The public opening reception will be on May 10th from 6:00pm to 9:00pm.  The event is free to the public and no tickets are required.  For more information, please visit: http://www.workhousearts.org/events/visual-arts/ko...

Categories: Arts, Exhibits, Free

Event Venue

The Workhouse Arts Center

9601 Ox Road
Lorton, VA 22079
  • Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, May 11, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Wednesday, May 14, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, May 15, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, May 16, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, May 18, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Wednesday, May 21, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, May 22, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, May 23, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, May 24, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, May 25, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Wednesday, May 28, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, May 29, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, May 30, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, May 31, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, June 1, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Wednesday, June 4, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, June 5, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, June 6, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, June 7, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, June 8, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Wednesday, June 11, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, June 12, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, June 13, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, June 14, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, June 15, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Thursday, June 19, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Friday, June 20, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Saturday, June 21, 2014 - 11:00am
  • Sunday, June 22, 2014 - 11:00am
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest