Search form

Washington National Opera: Norma

Vincenzo Bellini's Norma
Libretto by Felice Romani
New Production

A secret affair across enemy lines becomes a war of hearts when love is betrayed. In the midst of the Gallic-Roman wars, the Druid priestess Norma secretly carries on a love affair with the enemy's proconsul, Pollione. When a younger priestess, Adalgisa, catches Pollione's eye, the mystic Norma turns warrior, prepared to seek revenge for this betrayal.

Fresh from acclaimed performances of Norma in concert, rising opera star Angela Meade makes her stage debut of the notoriously difficult title role opposite the formidable mezzo-soprano Dolora Zajick, who sings the role of Norma's rival, Adalgisa, in this thrilling new WNO production directed by Anne Bogart and conducted by Daniele Rustioni.

"Ms. Meade sounded in complete command of the role, delivering the character's charged, defiant dramatic recitative with gleaming sound and incisive attack."
--The New York Times

Approx. 2 hours, 50 minutes

Event begins at

Presented by: Washington National Opera

Event Venue

Kennedy Center, Opera House

2700 F Street, NW
Washington 20037

For more information:

  • Saturday, March 9, 2013
  • Sunday, March 10, 2013
  • Monday, March 11, 2013
  • Tuesday, March 12, 2013
  • Wednesday, March 13, 2013
  • Thursday, March 14, 2013
  • Friday, March 15, 2013
  • Saturday, March 16, 2013
  • Sunday, March 17, 2013
  • Monday, March 18, 2013
  • Tuesday, March 19, 2013
  • Wednesday, March 20, 2013
  • Thursday, March 21, 2013
  • Friday, March 22, 2013
  • Saturday, March 23, 2013
  • Sunday, March 24, 2013
PROMOTION:

Connect with WETA

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest